Skip to main content

Our Pathologists

Douglass Hanly Moir Pathology (DHM) has more than 100 pathologists who are leaders in their fields, and include specialists in all the major subdisciplines of pathology. This is unmatched by any other Australian laboratory.

Our practice is committed to providing our referring clinicians and healthcare professionals with convenient and ongoing access to our pathologists for consultation and clinical support.

DHM prides itself on the personalised nature of our pathology service, and warmly encourages clinicians and healthcare professionals to contact our pathologists if they can be of assistance in any way.

Dr Jim Newcombe

BMedSci (Hons), MPH (Hons), MBBS, FRACP, FRCPA

Chief Executive Officer, Douglass Hanly Moir Pathology

Director, Microbiology

Adj. Prof. Annabelle Farnsworth AM

MBBS (Hons), FRCPA, FIAC, DipCytopath (RCPA), RANZCOG (Hon)

Chief Medical Officer, Douglass Hanly Moir Pathology

Director, Cytopathology and GynaePath

Department Directors


Adj. Prof. Warick DelpradoMBBS, FRCPA, FIAC

Director, Histopathology



Adj. Prof. Annabelle Farnsworth AMMBBS (Hons), FRCPA, FIAC, DipCytopath (RCPA), RANZCOG (Hon)

Director, Cytopathology and GynaePath

Dr Melanie EdwardsBSc (Hons), MBBS (Hons), FRCPA, MIAC

Deputy Director,  Cytopathology

Dr Jennifer RobertsMBBS (Hons), FRCPA, MIAC

Deputy DirectorGynaePath

Clinical Chemistry/Endocrinology

Dr Grahame Caldwell, BSc (Med), MBBS, FRCPA

Co-Director, Clinical Chemistry

Dr Nick Taylor, BMedSc, MBBS, MAACB, FRCPA

Co-Director, Clinical Chemistry


Dr Fran HanlyMBBS, FRCPA

Director, Haematology

Dr Lye Lin HoMBBS (Hons), FRCPA, FRCPA

Deputy Director, Haematology


Dr Melanie Galea,  MBBS (Hons), BMedSc (Hons), FRCPA (Genetics)

Director, Genetics

Dr Marina Berbic, BMedSc, MBBS, MScMed (RHHG), PhD (Med), FRCPA (Genetics)
Deputy Director, Genetics


Dr Karl Baumgart, BSc (Med), MBBS, PhD, FRACP, FRCPA

Director, Immunology


Dr Jim Newcombe, BMedSci (Hons), MPH (Hons), MBBS, FRACP, FRCPA
Director, Microbiology


Molecular Biology/Infectious Serology

Dr Michael Wehrhahn, BSc (Med), MBBS (Hons), MPH (Hons), FRACP, FRCPA
Director, Molecular Biology/Infectious Serology